2017/18 Calendar

file00042653096

*Please note that some of the start venues in the pdf’s below may have changed – the ones listed on the Entry page will be correct.

PDF download

Gauteng events 2018

  • Sun 21-Jan-18 – 300km – Lido – 00:01
  • Sun 21-Jan-18 – 200km – Lido – 6am
  • Sun 18-Feb-18 – 400km – Riverstone Lodge (Muldersdrift) – 00:01
  • Sun 18-Feb-18 – 200km – Riverstone Lodge (Muldersdrift) – 6am
  • Sun 18-Mar-18 – 200km – Nigel Wimpy – 6am
  • Sat 31-Mar-18 – Easter – Fleche – Thaba Trails
  • Sun 15-Apr-18 – 300km – Thaba Trails – 00:01
  • Sun 15-Apr-18 – 200km – Thaba Trails – 6am
  • Sun 20-May-18 – 400km – Procycles – 00:01
  • Sun 20-May-18 – 200km – Procycles – 7am
  • Sat 16-Jun-18 – 600km – Thaba Trails – 00:01
  • Sun 17-Jun-18 – 200km – Thaba Trails – 7am
  • Sun 15-Jul-18 – 300km – Valverde – 00:01
  • Sun 15-Jul-18 – 200km – Valverde – 7am
  • Sun 19-Aug-18 – 400km – Circus Café – 00:01
  • Sun 19-Aug-18 – 200km – Circus Café – 7am
  • Fri 21-Sep-18 – 1000km – Thaba Trails – 00:01
  • Sun 23-Sep-18 – 200km – Thaba Trails – 6am
  • Sun 21-Oct-18 – 300km – Riverfield Lodge – 00:01
  • Sun 21-Oct-18 – 200km – Riverfield Lodge – 6am
  • Sat 24-Nov-18 – 600km – Valverde – 00:01
  • Sun 2-Dec-18 – 200km – Northcliff CC – 5am

Western Cape events 2017

  • Sat 14-Jan-2017 – 300km – Vrede – 00:01am
  • Fri 3-Feb-2017 – 400km – Vrede – 9pm
  • Fri 17-Mar-2017 – 600km – Vrede – 9pm
  • Easter 15-17 April 2017 – Fleche – TBA
  • Sat 20-May-2017 – 200km – Vrede – 6am
  • Sat 10-Jun-2017 – 300km – Vrede – 3am
  • Sat 1-Jul-2017 – 200km – Vrede – 6am
  • Sat 26-Aug-2017 – 300km – Vrede – 3am
  • Sun 10-Sep-2017 – 200km –  Vrede – 6am
  • Sat 7-Oct-2017 – 300km – Vrede – 3am
  • Fri 10-Nov-2017 – 400km – Vrede – 9pm
  • Fri 8-Dec-2017 – 600km – Vrede – 9pm

Western Cape events 2018

  • Sat 13-Jan-2018 – 200km – Vrede – 6am
  • Sat 3-Feb-2018 – 300km – Vrede – 3am
  • Fri 16-Mar-2018 – 400km – Vrede – 9pm
  • Easter 30-31 Mar 2018 – Fleche – TBA
  • Fri 6-Apr-2018 – 600km – Vrede – 9pm
  • Fri 18-May-2018 – 1000km – Vrede – 9pm
  • Sat 2-Jun-2018 – 200km – Vrede – 6am
  • Sat 28-Jul-2018 – 200km – Wellington – 6am
  • Sat 25-Aug-2018 – 200km – Vrede – 6am
  • Sat 8-Sep-2018 – 200km – Vrede – 6am
  • Sat 6-Oct-2018 – 300km – Vrede – 3am
  • Fri 2-Nov-2018 – 400km – Vrede – 9pm
  • Fri 30-Nov-2018 – 600km – Vrede – 9pm

Food for thought – tips for wet/winter riding

In short:

  1. Consider the type of jacket – breathable (ccolder) vs warmer (sweaty)
  2. Add light weight booties to keep you feet dry, can also layer them
  3. Roadie cap – under your helmet, to keep out the rain & warm your head
  4. Poor visibility – don’t wear black, wear a vizi vest so motorists can see you
  5. Reduce your tyre pressure to increase grip and roadholding
  6. Use a thick, wet weather lubricant to protect your chain
  7. Consider adding a mud guard, they don’t look that bad either
  8. Think where you’re riding – uphills get you warm, downhills bring wind chill
  9. Consider doing loops closer to home or a base station
  10. Chamois cream is imperative on a wet day to prevent chaving

Braking and cornering in the wet:

  1. Ride a bit slower – safety first, careful not to lock your brakes
  2. But consider locking them intentionally first – to test the levels of grip
  3. Start your braking earlier – especially with carbon rims
  4. Go into a corner slowly and build up your speed as you go along
  5. Remember that painted white lines or drains can be as slick as ice
  6. With the first rains all the oil on the road lifts and it is very slippery
  7. Consider wet weather tyres – softer, don’t last that long, but grips better