2017/18 Calendar

file00042653096

PDF download

Gauteng events

  • Sun 22-Jan-2017 – 300km – Lido Hotel – 3am
  • Sun 22-Jan-2017 – 200km – Lido Hotel – 6am
  • Sun 19-Feb-2017 – 200km – Lido Hotel – 6am
  • Sun 26-Mar-2017 – 200km – Lido Hotel – 6am
  • Sun 26-Mar-2017 – 400km – Lido Hotel – 00:01
  • Sun 23-Apr-2017 – 300km – Lido Hotel – 3am
  • Sun 21-May-2017 – 200km – Lido Hotel – 7am
  • Sun 25-Jun-2017 – 200km – Pro Cycles – 7am
  • Sun 23-Jul-2017 – 200km – Northcliff CC – 7am
  • Sun 20-Aug-2017 – 200km – Circus Cafe – 7am
  • Sun 27-Aug-2017 – 200km – Wimpy HBP – 7am
  • Thu 21-Sep-2017 – 1000km – Lido Hotel – 9pm
  • Sun 15-Oct-2017 – 200km – Nigel Wimpy – 6am
  • Sat 25-Nov-2017 – 600km – Lido Hotel – 00:01
  • Sun 3-Dec-2017 – 200km – Northcliff CC – 5am

Gauteng events 2018

  • Sun 21-Jan-18 – 300km – TBA – 3am
  • Sun 21-Jan-18 – 200km – TBA – 6am
  • Sun 18-Feb-18 – 400km – TBA – 3am
  • Sun 18-Feb-18 – 200km – TBA – 6am
  • Sun 18-Mar-18 – 200km – TBA – 6am
  • Sat 31-Mar-18 – Easter – Fleche – TBA
  • Sun 15-Apr-18 – 300km – TBA – 3am
  • Sun 15-Apr-18 – 200km – TBA – 6am
  • Sun 20-May-18 – 400km – TBA – 3am
  • Sun 20-May-18 – 200km – TBA – 7am
  • Sat 16-Jun-18 – 600km – TBA – 00:01
  • Sun 17-Jun-18 – 200km – TBA – 7am
  • Sun 15-Jul-18 – 300km – TBA – 3am
  • Sun 15-Jul-18 – 200km – TBA – 7am
  • Sun 19-Aug-18 – 400km – TBA – 3am
  • Sun 19-Aug-18 – 200km – TBA – 7am
  • Fri 21-Sep-18 – 1000km – Lido – 00:01
  • Sun 23-Sep-18 – 200km – Lido – 6am
  • Sun 21-Oct-18 – 300km – TBA – 3am
  • Sun 21-Oct-18 – 200km – TBA – 6am
  • Sat 24-Nov-18 – 600km – Lido – 00:01
  • Sun 2-Dec-18 – 200km – Northcliff CC – 5am

Western Cape events 2017

  • Sat 14-Jan-2017 – 300km – Vrede – 00:01am
  • Fri 3-Feb-2017 – 400km – Vrede – 9pm
  • Fri 17-Mar-2017 – 600km – Vrede – 9pm
  • Easter 15-17 April 2017 – Fleche – TBA
  • Sat 20-May-2017 – 200km – Vrede – 6am
  • Sat 10-Jun-2017 – 300km – Vrede – 3am
  • Sat 1-Jul-2017 – 200km – Vrede – 6am
  • Sat 26-Aug-2017 – 300km – Vrede – 3am
  • Sun 10-Sep-2017 – 200km –  Vrede – 6am
  • Sat 7-Oct-2017 – 300km – Vrede – 3am
  • Fri 10-Nov-2017 – 400km – Vrede – 9pm
  • Fri 8-Dec-2017 – 600km – Vrede – 9pm

Western Cape events 2018

  • Sat 13-Jan-2018 – 200km – Vrede – 6am
  • Sat 3-Feb-2018 – 300km – Vrede – 3am
  • Fri 16-Mar-2018 – 400km – Vrede – 9pm
  • Easter 30-31 Mar 2018 – Fleche – TBA
  • Fri 6-Apr-2018 – 600km – Vrede – 9pm
  • Fri 18-May-2018 – 1000km – Vrede – 9pm
  • Sat 2-Jun-2018 – 200km – Vrede – 6am
  • Sat 28-Jul-2018 – 200km – Vrede – 6am
  • Sat 25-Aug-2018 – 200km – Vrede – 6am
  • Sat 8-Sep-2018 – 200km – Vrede – 6am
  • Sat 6-Oct-2018 – 300km – Vrede – 3am
  • Fri 2-Nov-2018 – 400km – Vrede – 9pm
  • Fri 30-Nov-2018 – 600km – Vrede – 9pm

Food for thought – tips for wet/winter riding

In short:

  1. Consider the type of jacket – breathable (ccolder) vs warmer (sweaty)
  2. Add light weight booties to keep you feet dry, can also layer them
  3. Roadie cap – under your helmet, to keep out the rain & warm your head
  4. Poor visibility – don’t wear black, wear a vizi vest so motorists can see you
  5. Reduce your tyre pressure to increase grip and roadholding
  6. Use a thick, wet weather lubricant to protect your chain
  7. Consider adding a mud guard, they don’t look that bad either
  8. Think where you’re riding – uphills get you warm, downhills bring wind chill
  9. Consider doing loops closer to home or a base station
  10. Chamois cream is imperative on a wet day to prevent chaving

Braking and cornering in the wet:

  1. Ride a bit slower – safety first, careful not to lock your brakes
  2. But consider locking them intentionally first – to test the levels of grip
  3. Start your braking earlier – especially with carbon rims
  4. Go into a corner slowly and build up your speed as you go along
  5. Remember that painted white lines or drains can be as slick as ice
  6. With the first rains all the oil on the road lifts and it is very slippery
  7. Consider wet weather tyres – softer, don’t last that long, but grips better